Author Topic: Masternodes Testing (Round 1)  (Read 115615 times)

SJRulez83

  • Admin
  • *****
  • Posts: 64
  • IT Manager,Software Developer and Geek
    • View Profile
Re: Masternodes Testing
« Reply #105 on: January 27, 2015, 09:46:47 pm »
What's in the "Score" value?
This is node response time. Once we will have fully working instant transactions this value will show how fast your node is confirming transactions. Right now masternodes simply confirm certain blocks. Masternodes running for a long time should have score close to zero.


Is this affected by network conditions ie packet latency, bandwidth etc or the processing at the node?

minerpage

  • Admin / Donator
  • ******
  • Posts: 113
    • View Profile
Re: Masternodes Testing
« Reply #106 on: January 27, 2015, 09:48:48 pm »
What's in the "Score" value?
This is node response time. Once we will have fully working instant transactions this value will show how fast your node is confirming transactions. Right now masternodes simply confirm certain blocks. Masternodes running for a long time should have score close to zero.

So the node response time (or Score) is calculated by
  • cpu power (faster computer, faster response time)
  • bandwidth (more bandwidth, faster response time)
  • DNS latency (faster connection, faster response time)

Something like that? Any other factors? Can we assume that lower score ratings will generate more income?

groova

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Masternodes Testing
« Reply #107 on: January 27, 2015, 09:54:21 pm »
If anyone can spare some tSPR : muA12zqYMtAfzgKA5j26xLaXoKtyENBQKD
Thanks! :)

Edit:  Received 120 tSPR.  Thanks!

Mr. Spread

  • Core Developer
  • ******
  • Posts: 105
    • View Profile
Re: Masternodes Testing
« Reply #108 on: January 27, 2015, 09:55:18 pm »
You generally need to have as many connections as you can to have lower (which is better score), currently there is a built-in non configurable limit for outgoing connections, I plan to fix this. The current formula for ranging masternodes is as follows: amount - score*score. So if your score is 1 it is like your masternode has one less coin that it actually has, if it is 10 then it is like your MN has 100 less coins.

georgem

  • Tech Admin
  • ******
  • Posts: 924
    • View Profile
Re: Masternodes Testing
« Reply #109 on: January 27, 2015, 09:55:50 pm »
If I have a masternode running with 10k SPR, will it be possible to have those 10k SPR sit in another wallet? Like darkcoin does it?

MyFarm

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 259
    • View Profile
Re: Masternodes Testing
« Reply #110 on: January 27, 2015, 09:56:59 pm »
Apparently the admin at bitcointalk are fucking morons: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=938394.msg10282224#msg10282224


Mr. Spread

  • Core Developer
  • ******
  • Posts: 105
    • View Profile
Re: Masternodes Testing
« Reply #111 on: January 27, 2015, 09:57:23 pm »
If I have a masternode running with 10k SPR, will it be possible to have those 10k SPR sit in another wallet? Like darkcoin does it?
Yes,you will need to use mnsecret & mnstart commands as I described

gjhiggins

  • Guest
Re: Masternodes Testing
« Reply #112 on: January 27, 2015, 09:57:30 pm »
Hi all.

I can add a couple of distinct nodes, one on my laptop and t'other on our hetzner box. According to my arithmetic, it'll take my laptop 50 hours (1 core devoted) to accumulate 100 tSPR.

Hence an appeal for tfunds: mkbkG7bvLEff2vHQQsnNtW5etfa2oYwHd2

Cheers

Graham

(P.S. Mr Spread, another PR for your consideration)

devlin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: Masternodes Testing
« Reply #113 on: January 27, 2015, 09:58:31 pm »
Does it matter if I am behind a router (8 active connections) or is need to port forwarding?

Mr. Spread

  • Core Developer
  • ******
  • Posts: 105
    • View Profile
Re: Masternodes Testing
« Reply #114 on: January 27, 2015, 10:00:58 pm »
Apparently the admin at bitcointalk are fucking morons: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=938394.msg10282224#msg10282224
Quote
Specifically, you are not allowed to give people any incentive to post insubstantial posts in your threads. You can't offer to pay people who post their addresses, usernames, etc. You can do giveaways off-site and link to the giveaway page in a thread, but you can't give people any bonus for replying to your thread.
Right, I paid  :D

SJRulez83

  • Admin
  • *****
  • Posts: 64
  • IT Manager,Software Developer and Geek
    • View Profile
Re: Masternodes Testing
« Reply #115 on: January 27, 2015, 10:01:18 pm »
If anyone can spare a 100tspr

myFanwSSgCoQw7WCrQkxDbYniPJnDeAwKX

I have HP DL580 dual cpu quad core server sitting on an OC-24 connection (gigabit optical), im curious to test the score on it now. If it performs well ill put it up as perm master node once it all goes live. An OC-24's not cheap ;)

MemoryShock

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
    • View Profile
Re: Masternodes Testing
« Reply #116 on: January 27, 2015, 10:01:47 pm »
Downloaded the wallet and am mining but I only have 20...:D

Could someone send me some coins so that I can set up a MN?

n3ChhGkoSHdb7GDYz4XiwsttnxQ7SfZ7rR

I have class so I won't be able to set it up until tonight but I figure I might as well be ready.  Also, if there is a step by step guide on how to do it, that might save me asking questions later....please and thank you.

On a side note, I think it is better to do all of the communicating through this forum...might be able to drastically limit the FUD...: )

Edit - tSPR received; thanks.  I'll be back later on tonight!

Mr. Spread

  • Core Developer
  • ******
  • Posts: 105
    • View Profile
Re: Masternodes Testing
« Reply #117 on: January 27, 2015, 10:06:07 pm »
If anyone can spare a 100tspr

myFanwSSgCoQw7WCrQkxDbYniPJnDeAwKX

I have HP DL580 dual cpu quad core server sitting on an OC-24 connection (gigabit optical), im curious to test the score on it now. If it performs well ill put it up as perm master node once it all goes live. An OC-24's not cheap ;)
Scores may not be very precisely calculated right now.

minerpage

  • Admin / Donator
  • ******
  • Posts: 113
    • View Profile
Re: Masternodes Testing
« Reply #118 on: January 27, 2015, 10:11:24 pm »
You generally need to have as many connections as you can to have lower (which is better score), currently there is a built-in non configurable limit for outgoing connections, I plan to fix this. The current formula for ranging masternodes is as follows: amount - score*score. So if your score is 1 it is like your masternode has one less coin that it actually has, if it is 10 then it is like your MN has 100 less coins.

Is there a point at which keeping a MN is useless because of too high a score? I.e. time to switch server and make it run faster?

Strumpet!

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
    • View Profile
Re: Masternodes Testing
« Reply #119 on: January 27, 2015, 10:13:51 pm »
If anyone can spare a 100tspr

myFanwSSgCoQw7WCrQkxDbYniPJnDeAwKX

I have HP DL580 dual cpu quad core server sitting on an OC-24 connection (gigabit optical), im curious to test the score on it now. If it performs well ill put it up as perm master node once it all goes live. An OC-24's not cheap ;)
Scores may not be very precisely calculated right now.

If scores were better for MNs running on better connections, and those MNs earned more, it would help encourage people to use VPS instances on a decent pipe, not run 27 MNs on their flaky home cable. Which so far is my main worry. For a fresh implementation of Masternode code with a bunch of great usability improvements this has so far been absolutely outstanding. :)