Author Topic: Testnet  (Read 1713 times)

zener

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Testnet
« on: February 27, 2016, 07:00:55 am »
I've set testnet=1 in the spreadcoin.conf file and I'm running spreadcoin32 on windows. I keep getting there is no block source and no active connections. I've tried a few addnode ip's I found on the forum, but still can't get connected to the testnet?  :(
Spreadcoin: SMurfsFUqLRfj7BasrtMnuRd3CTzFMKpJU
Ethereum:   0x474082099080ce03faec28bd44e672e49b2b5179
Bitcoin:       1G5EVX9PBfrprvgvYeH6AWkrkfziT1Cub2
Litecoin:      LM8eJ4re8Y7vBPZimLSSdBYoaq3wX19rM9

georgem

  • Tech Admin
  • ******
  • Posts: 840
    • View Profile
Re: Testnet
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2016, 02:10:39 pm »
To my knowledge nobody is running full testnet nodes right now.

We are going to need a few volunteers!

georgem

  • Tech Admin
  • ******
  • Posts: 840
    • View Profile
Re: Testnet
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2016, 02:11:48 pm »
I've tried a few addnode ip's I found on the forum, but still can't get connected to the testnet?  :(

Those IPs you found in the forum are not for testnet.

zener

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Testnet
« Reply #3 on: February 28, 2016, 08:35:41 am »
I managed to build spreadcoind and it seems to work fine. To get the testnet up, is there a test blockchain I can use or do I need to create the genesis block?
Spreadcoin: SMurfsFUqLRfj7BasrtMnuRd3CTzFMKpJU
Ethereum:   0x474082099080ce03faec28bd44e672e49b2b5179
Bitcoin:       1G5EVX9PBfrprvgvYeH6AWkrkfziT1Cub2
Litecoin:      LM8eJ4re8Y7vBPZimLSSdBYoaq3wX19rM9

georgem

  • Tech Admin
  • ******
  • Posts: 840
    • View Profile
Re: Testnet
« Reply #4 on: February 28, 2016, 01:57:31 pm »
I managed to build spreadcoind and it seems to work fine. To get the testnet up, is there a test blockchain I can use or do I need to create the genesis block?

It should work automatically if atleast 2 peers are available and atleast one of them is mining.

Yep, you also need atleast 1 testnet miner to make a testnet blockchain work!
But it can be a mere CPU miner, it doesn't matter.

georgem

  • Tech Admin
  • ******
  • Posts: 840
    • View Profile
Re: Testnet
« Reply #5 on: February 28, 2016, 03:58:19 pm »
I managed to build spreadcoind and it seems to work fine. To get the testnet up, is there a test blockchain I can use or do I need to create the genesis block?

We never payed much attention to this testnet functionality.
There may still be bugs.

I will look into it, when next update is released.

zener

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Testnet
« Reply #6 on: February 28, 2016, 04:18:43 pm »
Looks like that worked. Thanks! Can the block reward, difficulty and confirmations(6) be changed/fixed on the testnet?
Spreadcoin: SMurfsFUqLRfj7BasrtMnuRd3CTzFMKpJU
Ethereum:   0x474082099080ce03faec28bd44e672e49b2b5179
Bitcoin:       1G5EVX9PBfrprvgvYeH6AWkrkfziT1Cub2
Litecoin:      LM8eJ4re8Y7vBPZimLSSdBYoaq3wX19rM9

georgem

  • Tech Admin
  • ******
  • Posts: 840
    • View Profile
Re: Testnet
« Reply #7 on: February 28, 2016, 04:43:38 pm »
Looks like that worked. Thanks! Can the block reward, difficulty and confirmations(6) be changed/fixed on the testnet?

Well, not on the official testnet that comes with the official wallet version.
But you are ofcourse always free to start your own tiny test fork with your own settings if you want to check something or mine faster or whatever.

But we have to keep official testnet as close to mainnet as possible,
that's the whole point of having an official testnet, so that people can test something before they apply it on mainnet (forexample multi signature, or other exotic scripts, etc..)

zener

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Testnet
« Reply #8 on: February 28, 2016, 05:56:18 pm »
Testnet node is up:

Set your sreadcoin.conf to:
testnet=1
addnode=81.107.192.238

Mined coins will show "Immature" until at least 6 testnet nodes can validate.

Spreadcoin: SMurfsFUqLRfj7BasrtMnuRd3CTzFMKpJU
Ethereum:   0x474082099080ce03faec28bd44e672e49b2b5179
Bitcoin:       1G5EVX9PBfrprvgvYeH6AWkrkfziT1Cub2
Litecoin:      LM8eJ4re8Y7vBPZimLSSdBYoaq3wX19rM9

georgem

  • Tech Admin
  • ******
  • Posts: 840
    • View Profile
Re: Testnet
« Reply #9 on: February 28, 2016, 05:57:32 pm »
Testnet node is up:

Set your sreadcoin.conf to:
testnet=1
addnode=81.107.192.238

Mined coins will show "Immature" until at least 6 testnet nodes can validate.

That's awesome. Thanks for your help!
If you haven't already, please post about it in the main thread on BCT too.

BTW, It doesn't need 6 testnet nodes to validate. Just 2 nodes are enough. Who is mining right now? Are you?
Without atleast one miner it will just freeze.

zener

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Testnet
« Reply #10 on: February 28, 2016, 06:50:00 pm »
Sreadcoind is mining with 1 core on a i7. (./sreadcoind setgenerate true 1) The blocks are ticking. When I do a ./spreadcoind listaccounts, I get { "" : 66.666666 }.

How do I check what account this is getting mined into?
Spreadcoin: SMurfsFUqLRfj7BasrtMnuRd3CTzFMKpJU
Ethereum:   0x474082099080ce03faec28bd44e672e49b2b5179
Bitcoin:       1G5EVX9PBfrprvgvYeH6AWkrkfziT1Cub2
Litecoin:      LM8eJ4re8Y7vBPZimLSSdBYoaq3wX19rM9

SatoshisLiver

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Re: Testnet
« Reply #11 on: March 11, 2016, 10:40:01 am »
Testnet node is up:
...

hi zener,
   is your testnet still running?

zener

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Testnet
« Reply #12 on: March 14, 2016, 10:16:22 am »
Hi SatoshisLiver,

Yes, it is up. I moved it to a new server this weekend. Please give it a try and let me know. It helped me prove that the NVIDIA GPU miner does not work on GTX 660 cards.

Spreadcoin: SMurfsFUqLRfj7BasrtMnuRd3CTzFMKpJU
Ethereum:   0x474082099080ce03faec28bd44e672e49b2b5179
Bitcoin:       1G5EVX9PBfrprvgvYeH6AWkrkfziT1Cub2
Litecoin:      LM8eJ4re8Y7vBPZimLSSdBYoaq3wX19rM9

SatoshisLiver

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Re: Testnet
« Reply #13 on: March 14, 2016, 10:49:34 am »
Hi SatoshisLiver,

Yes, it is up. I moved it to a new server this weekend. Please give it a try and let me know. It helped me prove that the NVIDIA GPU miner does not work on GTX 660 cards.

fine. i'll try it the next days - is your testnet node IP still 81.107.192.238?

the GTX 660 is a kepler card, and the spreadminer from tsiv compatible with sm35 so it should work.
I compiled the source while ago with sm35 and found blocks. Do you run your miner on windows or linux?



zener

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Testnet
« Reply #14 on: March 14, 2016, 04:00:39 pm »
I've run both the windows and linux versions. Also compiled a few with different Cuda versions. All I get is that the result does not validate on CPU. I'm now mining ETH and EXP on the GTX 660.

I've also found several other people with the same issue. Someone has this issue on a GTX 750ti aswell. That is Maxwell I think.
Spreadcoin: SMurfsFUqLRfj7BasrtMnuRd3CTzFMKpJU
Ethereum:   0x474082099080ce03faec28bd44e672e49b2b5179
Bitcoin:       1G5EVX9PBfrprvgvYeH6AWkrkfziT1Cub2
Litecoin:      LM8eJ4re8Y7vBPZimLSSdBYoaq3wX19rM9