Author Topic: Step-by-step: Masternode on VPS  (Read 1107 times)

Mr. Spread

  • Core Developer
  • Posts: 105
    • View Profile
Re: Step-by-step: Masternode on VPS
« Reply #15 on: January 30, 2015, 06:54:22 AM »
This command is incorrect:
echo "mnstart=`spreadcoind mnsecret 7f7bbb802daa9723b1e060cfa28b6e1a1b6d5ad68f1136ca8f6aa9450edee6f7:1`" >> ~/.spreadtestcoin/spreadcoin.conf
You should put actual mnsecret instead of `spreadcoind mnsecret 7f7bbb802daa9723b1e060cfa28b6e1a1b6d5ad68f1136ca8f6aa9450edee6f7:1`

MyFarm

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 259
    • View Profile
Re: Step-by-step: Masternode on VPS
« Reply #16 on: January 30, 2015, 07:52:54 AM »
This command is incorrect:
echo "mnstart=`spreadcoind mnsecret 7f7bbb802daa9723b1e060cfa28b6e1a1b6d5ad68f1136ca8f6aa9450edee6f7:1`" >> ~/.spreadtestcoin/spreadcoin.conf
You should put actual mnsecret instead of `spreadcoind mnsecret 7f7bbb802daa9723b1e060cfa28b6e1a1b6d5ad68f1136ca8f6aa9450edee6f7:1`

I just did this, did the mnstart, and got back "True" (I didn't have to wait 50 confirms)

Now, the masternode connected to this has always been checked in my wallet and thus was running from my local PC.  How do I tell that it is running from my VPS now?

GilAlexander

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
    • View Profile
Re: Step-by-step: Masternode on VPS
« Reply #17 on: January 30, 2015, 08:21:27 AM »
This command is incorrect:
echo "mnstart=`spreadcoind mnsecret 7f7bbb802daa9723b1e060cfa28b6e1a1b6d5ad68f1136ca8f6aa9450edee6f7:1`" >> ~/.spreadtestcoin/spreadcoin.conf
I believe it will work if there is wallet.dat with that tx on the vps - so if you can generate mnsecret from it. If no, you'll need to put plaintext mnsecrets generated locally. They don't contain private keys for mn addresses (there are private keys for some other addresses) so it is true cold setup. If you have multiple mns, your .conf will be:
Code: [Select]
mnstart=
mnstart=
mnstart=
No need to ./spreadcoind mnstart .. after that - it will be done automatically when daemon start.

How do I tell that it is running from my VPS now?
Backup your wallet.dat on local pc and delete and run wallet without it. Then wait for some time and check whether your masternodes are still in list and elected. It will mean that your vps "supports" them.
my spr addr: SVf1jyKHgdCngvpXf9SGQveiaFBFthmjVu

MyFarm

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 259
    • View Profile
Re: Step-by-step: Masternode on VPS
« Reply #18 on: January 30, 2015, 08:28:41 AM »
Backup your wallet.dat on local pc and delete and run wallet without it. Then wait for some time and check whether your masternodes are still in list and elected. It will mean that your vps "supports" them.
Thanks, I'll give that a try tomorrow.

In theory, if I shutdown the computer that masternode USED to be on, shouldn't it stay in the masternode list while my others drop off and I can monitor that with another computer?

With that said, a more userfriendly way of tracking these would be nice at some point.

GilAlexander

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
    • View Profile
Re: Step-by-step: Masternode on VPS
« Reply #19 on: January 30, 2015, 08:42:12 AM »
In theory, if I shutdown the computer that masternode USED to be on, shouldn't it stay in the masternode list while my others drop off and I can monitor that with another computer?
I'm not sure I understood the question.
Qt-wallet with checked "control" or daemon with mnstart entries in .conf or daemon with mnstart command will propagate some messages via network that prove other nodes that your mn is capable. This is how it should work. If there are no any your nodes left that do so, you masternodes will be vanished from the list after an hour, as Mr. Spread said.
To monitor you may either wait your masternodes deelected and then try to start them from vps or turn your local wallet off and check if they are in list after some hours.
my spr addr: SVf1jyKHgdCngvpXf9SGQveiaFBFthmjVu

girino

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: Step-by-step: Masternode on VPS
« Reply #20 on: January 30, 2015, 11:12:58 AM »
When I enter
Quote
echo "mnstart=`spreadcoind mnsecret 7f7bbb802daa9723b1e060cfa28b6e1a1b6d5ad68f1136ca8f6aa9450edee6f7:1`" >> ~/.spreadtestcoin/spreadcoin.conf

(with my transaction ID)

I get:

Quote
error: {"code":-5,"message":"Could not get private key, wallet is locked or it is not your transaction"}

Wallet is not locked and this is the transaction ID of the coins I sent to myself.

Anyone have any ideas?

It looks like a cold/remote setup is not possible yet. It only seems to work if the funds are on the VPS (e.g. private key known), I had the same problem.

i ran "mnsecret" on my home machine and copied only the results to the VPS. You need the PK to get the secret, but after that, you can use the secret on any wallet.

vertoe

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • Darkcoin Core Dev
    • View Profile
    • Darkco.in
Re: Step-by-step: Masternode on VPS
« Reply #21 on: January 30, 2015, 01:44:46 PM »
This command is incorrect:
echo "mnstart=`spreadcoind mnsecret 7f7bbb802daa9723b1e060cfa28b6e1a1b6d5ad68f1136ca8f6aa9450edee6f7:1`" >> ~/.spreadtestcoin/spreadcoin.conf
You should put actual mnsecret instead of `spreadcoind mnsecret 7f7bbb802daa9723b1e060cfa28b6e1a1b6d5ad68f1136ca8f6aa9450edee6f7:1`
indeed, fixed OP.
SSHUvYeyGQcV6z1QvFiu2SppKDTbb2ZFC1

MyFarm

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 259
    • View Profile
Re: Step-by-step: Masternode on VPS
« Reply #22 on: January 30, 2015, 03:50:40 PM »
We're getting close!  :)  A few minor things:

VPS: Generate a masternode secret from the transaction input. if input:0 fails, try:1, and so on until you get what you want:
Code: [Select]
mnsecret 7f7bbb802daa9723b1e060cfa28b6e1a1b6d5ad68f1136ca8f6aa9450edee6f7:1

I believe this step should refer to creating the mnsecret in the wallet console, not the VPS, correct?


On the VPS, put it directly into the config file:
Code: [Select]
echo "mnstart=7f7bbb802daa9723b1e060cfa28b6e1a1b6d5ad68f1136ca8f6aa9450edee6f7:1:1c574e216511919b4578586843198d6c006171592001003986fccae864a3db9b78b6e08037f30fcbbfd33aeec23a6d2130e06556ae66a4796c731b778ad790f0d6:925EuDdYmiQvgq1S6em6kQ1WR5wU5qB8t7treVVFBhwxFLrkN27" >> ~/.spreadtestcoin/spreadcoin.conf[/url]

... wait for 50 confirmations ...

Are you sure 50 confirms have to be waited for here?  I didn't wait and was given, "True"

In Tao's masternode guide: https://darkcointalk.org/threads/taos-masternode-setup-guide-for-dummies.2680/ they chmod a couple times for added security.  Would that be beneficial here?

GilAlexander

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
    • View Profile
Re: Step-by-step: Masternode on VPS
« Reply #23 on: January 30, 2015, 07:58:25 PM »
I believe this step should refer to creating the mnsecret in the wallet console, not the VPS, correct?
Yes.

Are you sure 50 confirms have to be waited for here?  I didn't wait and was given, "True"
50 confirms for transaction that is in mnsecret. 50 confirms is the protocol-level rule. I believe the daemon is trying to start/"prolong" masternode when mnstart's are in .conf.

In Tao's masternode guide: https://darkcointalk.org/threads/taos-masternode-setup-guide-for-dummies.2680/ they chmod a couple times for added security.  Would that be beneficial here?
I wonder for what that step is - in .conf there's nothing more valuable than your vps credentials. Nevermind.
my spr addr: SVf1jyKHgdCngvpXf9SGQveiaFBFthmjVu

def15

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Re: Step-by-step: Masternode on VPS
« Reply #24 on: January 31, 2015, 08:32:36 AM »
So is the guide 100% fool proof from start to finish?

Does the guide explain adding multiple masternodes to one vps?

Thanks vertoe!

MyFarm

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 259
    • View Profile
Re: Step-by-step: Masternode on VPS
« Reply #25 on: January 31, 2015, 09:23:22 AM »
So is the guide 100% fool proof from start to finish?

Does the guide explain adding multiple masternodes to one vps?

Thanks vertoe!

Not quite yet.  A couple minor edits need to be made.

It doesn't explain adding multiple masternodes yet.  I was hoping to bounty that as well.

GilAlexander

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
    • View Profile
Re: Step-by-step: Masternode on VPS
« Reply #26 on: January 31, 2015, 11:38:52 AM »
It doesn't explain adding multiple masternodes yet.

If you have multiple mns, your .conf will be:
Code: [Select]
mnstart=
mnstart=
mnstart=
That's all about multiple masternodes.
my spr addr: SVf1jyKHgdCngvpXf9SGQveiaFBFthmjVu

def15

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Re: Step-by-step: Masternode on VPS
« Reply #27 on: January 31, 2015, 03:31:17 PM »
It doesn't explain adding multiple masternodes yet.

If you have multiple mns, your .conf will be:
Code: [Select]
mnstart=
mnstart=
mnstart=
That's all about multiple masternodes.

mnstart=[output]
or
mnstart=[privkey]?

GilAlexander

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
    • View Profile
Re: Step-by-step: Masternode on VPS
« Reply #28 on: January 31, 2015, 03:33:08 PM »
It doesn't explain adding multiple masternodes yet.

If you have multiple mns, your .conf will be:
Code: [Select]
mnstart=
mnstart=
mnstart=
That's all about multiple masternodes.

mnstart=[output]
or
mnstart=[privkey]?
mnstart=mnsecret (output of mnsecret command)
my spr addr: SVf1jyKHgdCngvpXf9SGQveiaFBFthmjVu

Strumpet!

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
    • View Profile
Re: Step-by-step: Masternode on VPS
« Reply #29 on: January 31, 2015, 07:09:45 PM »
It doesn't explain adding multiple masternodes yet.

If you have multiple mns, your .conf will be:
Code: [Select]
mnstart=
mnstart=
mnstart=
That's all about multiple masternodes.

mnstart=[output]
or
mnstart=[privkey]?

Under the Masternode tab, find your potential MN (one with a checkbox) and ctrl+C to copy the output column for that input. Then go to Tools > Debug console and type:
'mnsecret <ctrl+V>'
You will get an ever bigger string spat out. That's what you put in the 'mnstart=...' line in your spreadcoin.conf.